well here we go

I spent so much time and effort and money on trying to stay not-pregnant for so long that I always kind of assumed once those obstacles were gone, it would just happen. All those sex ed classes in school, all the unplanned pregnancies for people we knew – anyone can get pregnant if they’re not careful, right?

Well, not anyone.

R and I have been together for almost nine years, married for three. We have good jobs that we love, just bought our first house, and things are good. About 14 months ago, we decided we were ready. We didn’t need to actively start trying yet – I wasn’t planning on charting or anything like that – but we were ready to stop not-trying. I hadn’t been on BCP for about two years (thanks to a hassle with my insurance) so I didn’t have to worry about that. I didn’t think it would happen right away, but in my head I was naively giving us a couple of months until the timing would be perfect with my teaching schedule. Lots of sex is all it takes, right?

I guess not.

Last month, I went for my annual exam and mentioned to my gynecologist that we had been trying to get pregnant for a little over a year. I tried to not sound freaked out by this, even though I had started focusing more on the “Bumps in the Road” section of my copy What to Expect Before You’re Expecting a few months ago. I breathed a sigh of relief when she said that she was going to refer me to the infertility side of the clinic without me having to bring it up. Maybe I wasn’t being paranoid after all.

Not this time.

Leave a Reply

