ICLW & a meme

welcome ICLWers!  this is my second month participating: although i don’t think i ever made it up to the leave 5/respond to 1 last month, i had never commented on a blog before, so it was definitely an improvement.  here’s hoping i make it to the benchmark this time!
quick TTC recap for the newbies: my awesome husband (R) and i have been together for almost 9 years, married for almost 3, and TTC for 23 cycles.  our diagnosis is MFI and (possibly, kinda, sorta) PCOS and (maybe) endometriosis.  we tried our first IVF + ICSI cycle at the end of last year, but i was oversurpressed and then hyper-stimmed, so the eggs weren’t the best.  if at first you don’t succeed and all that jazz, right?  due to a lot of little concerns, we are meeting with a new doctor tomorrow afternoon.
in other getting to know you news, i’ve been procrastinating ever since the wonderful Daryl over at Something Out of Nothing tagged me in the meme that’s been going round the interwebs.  can we just pretend that i planned it this way to serve as a nice introduction?  thanks for enabling me!
i don’t follow rules well, and it looks like most of the ladies i follow have already been tagged, so i’m going to skip those steps.  but feel free to steal it and/or answer some of the questions in the comments!
1. Who are your favorite bloggers?
well, there’s quite the list over there to the right that lists most of them.  in the non-baby-related world, i religiously read:
matt, liz & madeline (although probably not the best blog for pregnant/trying to be pregnant ladies to read)
2. What tip(s) would you give a beginning blogger?
i think i’m still one of those beginners so take this with a grain of salt, but i know for me, i get anxious if i don’t post for a few days.
3. What is your occupation and what is your favorite part of that occupation?
i am a middle school special education teacher.  i know that sounds like most people’s worst nightmare, but they are a really fun age to work with.  in particular, i really like being there to help at the age when they are figuring out exactly why they are in special education and what their diagnosis/classification means.  and, they laugh at most some of my cheesy jokes.
4. What do you like to do in your spare time?
R and i really like to cook, and of course, eat.  i read like crazy, though mostly young adult fiction.  i go through knitting phases that usually last long enough for me to finish a project.  i also watch an insane amount of tv, especially while doing school work at home (which eats up a ton of my spare time)
5. What are the top 5 sites you visit on the Internet?
my google reader, facebook, the bump (although less and less), pinterest, wordpress, and blogs
6. What is your favorite vacation place and why?
i’ve been to puerto rico twice, once on our honeymoon and once for two weeks as an EarthWatch education fellow.  i absolutely love it there – the weather, the food, the rainforest and mountains.  i can’t wait to go back again.
7. What is your favorite subject to blog about? And how do you come up with ideas to blog about?
um, IF i guess.  i haven’t really gotten into too much of my personal life that isn’t making-a-baby related.  normally i just blog about whatever i am ranting to R too much can’t stop thinking about.
8. Tell us one unique fact about yourself:
last summer, i participated in NASA’s reduced gravity education program for teachers and flew on the vomit comet weightless wonder.  i experienced zero gravity for about 30 seconds at a time, 30 times.  it was the most amazing experience of my life.  i hope to go back in a few years depending how this baby stuff goes.
9. What is your favorite book(s) of all time and why?
haha, i hate this question – i can never pick just one.  some of my favorites were the book of lost things, ishmael, to kill a mockingbird (we’re doing this in my english class right now), and anything by john green.
10. What is your favorite food?
i always joke that i married R for his chicken paprikash dish.  it’s chicken and onions, broth and paprika, and sour cream with these big, heavy dumplings.  i could (and often do) stuff it in my face until the point of near explosion.
11. What are your favorite movie(s) of all time and why?
i love old school movies: anything with the hepburns (audrey or katharine), carey grant, or bing crosby.
12. What will you do if you can’t have a baby?
not a possibility.  we are sooooo lucky to have insurance coverage for three more fresh IVF cycles.  if, at the end of all this, we are still waiting to start our family, the plan is to move on to adoption.  but we will have a family, some day.

ok, so enough rambling about me – tell me something about you!  i’d love it if you pick a question and head to the comments!

16 thoughts on “ICLW & a meme

  1. The zero gravity thing sounds awesome! I’m going to have to check out some of those blogs too, as I’m a little IF-obsessed.

    I hope your appointment tomorrow goes well! Hopefully this guy(?) knows what he’s doing!

  2. Oh I love your answer to question 12. I feel the same way. I just started my first IVF cycle (!) after 28 months TTC, unexplained infertility and 3 failed natural IUIs. Ugh, it’s crazy.

  3. New here from ICLW! I am a teacher too but in elementary school, first grade. Sorry about your last cycle! I did 6 IVF cycles and I now have my 3 children. You can read my whole story in my new memoir which will be published soon. It’s called Ordinary Miracles. I will stop by and visit again some time. I just added your link to my blogroll!

  4. I love getting to know people through their blogs!

    6. What is your favorite vacation place and why? Flathead Lake in Montana. We’ve rented a cabin there for a week the last two summers, and are going to two weeks this year. It’s the most beautiful, relaxing place where there is literally nothing to do but lie on the dock, swim and enjoy the company of others.

  5. I hope things go well with the new doc tomorrow!

    A unique thing about me… I have moved (changed residences) somewhere close to 60 times, most of which came before my 21st birthday. I’ve lived in three countries, three provinces, and three states.

    Happy ICLW!

  6. Good luck at the doctor and good luck with commenting!! I have a hard time meeting the goals also, but it’s still really fun. I hope that they are able to tweak your medications and get you some good eggs next time around and that’s awesome that you have insurance coverage!!

  7. Good luck with the new doc! We went through 3 until we got the right diagnosis. We too went through some possible MFI stuff until we actually went to a urologist and got things figured out to the point that we were able to naturally conceive. PM me if you ever want to chat about it! Happy ICOMLEAVWE

  8. This is my second month participating as well! It’s helped me branch out and find more blogs!

    You are SO lucky to have insurance coverage for your IVF. We’re now saving for IVF and it’s going to be at least $10,000 for each. =(

  9. Hi,

    I’m finding you for the first time through ICLW. In terms of my favourite subject to blog about…well, my blog is dedicated to helping people deal with the experience of losing somebody they knew online, so I suppose my favourite subject to blog about within that would be the songs that have helped me through my experiences of online loss. (Yes, plural now, as of the fifteenth of January 2011) I’ve had a song played on Mexican radio, which was a tribute to the first person I knew and lost online. Looking forward to following your journey.

    Best Wishes,

    Casey

  10. I’ve been wanting to do the weightless flight thing for a long while now! That just sounds like so much fun, and one of those once in a lifetime experiences. I don’t always get up to the leave 5 comments and return 1 thing either, I seem to give up after leaving 3 or 4.

  11. I have been doing the ICLW for several months now and some months I do great and some I do terrible. Like this month. I really should have thought about what was going on this week…oops.

    Happy ICLW!

  12. I like your proceed until you succeed attitude! How great that you have insurance coverage (i’m jealous). I hope you’re next cycle turns out perfectly and you get your BFP!

    ICLW #97

  13. One of my best friends is a first year middle school SPED teacher. She’s been going nuts, but mostly because of it being the first year and so having to come up with so many fresh lesson plans. She also had almost all her IEPs due at once, which makes me think the one before her got backed up and then cranked hers out all at once late.

    11. My top 5 are Love Actually, Somewhere in Time, Ever After, Princess Bride, and Good Morning, Vietnam. Hey, there has to be one outlier, right?

    ICLW #6

  14. Hi from ICLW!

    We, too, have MFI. We are looking at an IVF in a few months (maybe sooner) and I am excited and scared to death at the same time. Glad you like your new RE!

Leave a Reply

