i fear i am turning into one of those obnoxious political people

but i hope you don’t mind.  it’s making me feel better to not be bottling this all up anymore.

(more political + family stuff edited out so i don’t get disowned.  email for the password.)

——

and then i read Mel’s post this morning, and it was so nice to read what i had been trying to articulate coming from someone else’s brain.  my favorite part:

I can wrap my mind around a woman supporting Republican economic policies.  I can wrap my mind around a woman being pro-gun.  I can wrap my mind around a woman believing abortion is morally wrong and would not partake in it herself even if raped.  But I can’t really wrap my mind around a woman taking it a step further and saying, “Because I believe that life begins at conception, I want to force all other women to think as I do about my reproductive organs.”  Because I can’t believe any of us sit around and think to ourselves, “I’d be totally okay if someone else foisted their beliefs on me.”

It all comes down to this: I don’t know what goes on in your world as well as you do because I am an outsider to your life.  And I don’t want to inflict my beliefs on you because I have no idea how those beliefs will have a ripple effect on the rest of your world.

so in case you didn’t know how amazing Mel is, go read the rest of what she wrote.

One thought on “i fear i am turning into one of those obnoxious political people

  1. This is absolutely not “obnoxious political” stuff. This is REALITY … and it’s about time some people saw that politics is about PEOPLE, not about words! Go, you, for bringing this home … and hooray for your cousins, who were brave enough to reevaluate their own thoughts on the subject! I loved Mel’s post, too (and the post before it about supporting women) … these are the small (and simultaneously large) steps we owe it to ourselves, and to others, to take.

Leave a Reply

